Rights

When assigning users to Roles, it is important to consider what access you would like the user to have within the program and the functions that they will be allowed to do.

There are three default roles. Those in the Admin Role will have all rights within the DGIS software. Those in the Manager Role have fewer rights that the Admin, but is still able to Edit Templates, for example. While those in the Standard User Role will have limited rights and this role is meant for those users who will only focus on shipping and will not be allowed to create/edit Templates or Parts. There is also the option to create custom roles and select each right to meet your needs.

Below is the list of rights and an explanation of what functions they serve within DGIS.

Administration

Manage Security – Gives the ability to manage Users, Locations, Roles, Password Enhancements, Copy Settings, and Licenses.

Manage Electronic Signatures – Gives the ability to manage electronic signatures for other users. Without this right, the user can only manage their own electronic signatures.

Print Shipment Collection – Gives the ability to print shipment collections. Without this right, the user can still process shipments, but will not see the Shipment Collections option on the left-hand side menu in the Shipping Papers tab. 

Create Templates – Gives the option to save new templates.

Bypass Validation – Gives the ability to use Bypass Validation in User Options. Without this right, the user will still see the Bypass Validation option in User Options, but it will not have an effect when processing shipments.

Manage Report Layouts – Gives the ability to use the Report Layout Editor. Without this right, the user will be able to see saved layouts, but cannot use the layout editor.

Set User Options – Gives the ability to set User Options for other users. Without this right, the user will only be able to set User Options for themselves.

Manage Locations – Gives access to Locations.

Configure Custom Rules – Gives the ability to use Custom Validations and Custom Overrides

Create Shipment Collection – Gives the ability to manage and create Shipment Collections. Without this right, the user will still be able to print Shipment Collections, but will not be able to create them.

 

Shipments

Create New Shipment – Makes forms available to begin blank shipments. Without this right, no forms would be available and the user will have to use templates to process shipments.

Options – Gives access to User Options.

Edit Basic Description – Gives the ability to edit the material sequence. Without this right, the user will still be able to check the properties to add information to the material sequence or type it in the Other Required Information field.

View all Addresses by Company – Allows the user to see all addresses in Address Book, added by all users in the company.

Delete all Shipments by Location – Allows the user to delete shipments processed within their location.

Edit all Templates by Company – Allows the user to edit all templates created by all users in the company. Without this right, the user will be able to use the template, but will not be able to overwrite it.

Create New Package – Allows the user to add a package and material to the shipment.

View all Templates by Location – Allows the user to see all templates created within their location

View all Shipments by Location – Allows the user to see all shipments completed within their location

View all Shipments by Company – Allows the user to see all shipments completed by all users in the company

Delete all Shipments by Company - Allows the user to delete shipments processed by all users in the company

Delete all Templates by Company – Allows the user to delete templates created by all users in the company

Select Material – Gives the ability to select the material to add to the shipment. Without this right, the user will only be able to select package templates.

Edit all Templates by Location - Allows the user to edit templates created within their location

Edit Part in Shipment – Allows the user to edit the material and packaging of a part within a shipment. Without this right, the user will only be able to add the part to the shipment

Edit all Shipments by Location – Allows the user to edit shipments processed within their location

Release Locked Drafts – Allows the user to release  a lock on any Draft shipment.

Delete all Templates by Location – Allows the user to delete templates within their location.

View all Addresses by Location – Allows users to all addresses in the Address Book within their location

Print – Give the ability to print shipments and access History. Without this right, the user can still process shipments, but will generate an error of insufficient rights once the shipment is completed. This error will occur because completing shipment automatically sends the user to the Print Shipments screen to print the shipment, but in this case, they do not have the option to print, so they will be sent to the Home tab with the error message.

Void History – Allows the use to void shipments in History.

Edit all Shipments by Company – Allows the user to edit shipments processed by all users within the company. Without this right, the user will be able to print the shipments processed outside of their location, but will not be able to edit the shipment.

View all Templates by Company – Allows the user to see all templates created by  all users in the company.

Use Report Layouts - Allows the user to apply Report Layouts to Maritime shipments.

 

Training

Manage Training – Allows the user access to the Training tab

View Training Report – Allows the user access to the Training report within the Training tab.

 

Parts

Edit Part – Gives the ability to Edit parts. Without this right, the user will only be able to view parts and not edit, manage packaging, or manage exemptions.

View Regulations – Allows the user to see the regulatory information from the Dangerous Goods List when viewing the part.

View all Document Types – Allows the user to view all document types.

Disable Part – Gives the ability to disable a part when editing.

View Private Notes – Allows the user to view privates notes attached to parts when processing the shipment.

Approve Changes – Gives the ability to approve changes to parts to make them active.

View Public Notes – Allows the user to view public notes attached to parts when processing the shipment.

Public – Allows the user to see the Document Management search box on the Home/Portal screen.

 

Portal

Admin – Gives the ability to edit the information in the Home tab.

 

Documents

Manage Shipping Paper – Gives the ability to update and delete shipping papers when editing the part.

Manage Exemption – Gives the ability to manage exemptions.

Manage Packaging – Gives the ability to manage packaging.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.