Locations Management [BETA 5.1]

This article is subject to change.

New Locations functionality with DGIS 5.1

Starting with the release of DGIS 5.1, the Administration tab has been updated in an effort to consolidate administrative functions and make the DGIS experience more efficient. The Locations screen has been enhanced in order to manage and assign DGIS data to a location from one screen.

Users, Parts, Templates, Option Groups, and Meter Numbers can now be assigned to a Location in a single screen. Any content created by a User assigned to a Location is automatically assigned to that Location as well. Locations created before the release of DGIS 5.1, along with the Users, Parts, Templates, and Meter Numbers assigned to those Locations, will be visible in the Locations Management screen.  If a User is not assigned to a Location, they will only be able to see Templates, Parts, and Meter Numbers that are NOT assigned to a Location.

Users with the Administrator or Manager role will have the ability to make changes on the Locations Management screen.

 

Location Management Layout

The Location Management screen will be visible to Administrators and Managers after clicking the Locations link in the left-hand side view in the Administration tab.

 

 

Creating Locations

To create a new Location:

  1. Click on the Administration tab.
  2. Click Locations in the left-hand side view.
  3. Click the Create button.
  4. Enter a value in the Enter Location name field.
  5. Click the Create Location button.

Each value entered in the Enter Location name field must be unique. A Location name cannot be more than 100 characters.

 

Option Group

Option Groups give Administrators the ability to apply Settings and Options to a group of Users rather than one User at a time. Only an Administrator can create an Option Group. Once an Option Group has been created, it can be assigned to a Location via the Location Management screen, by an Administrator or Manager. Any User assigned to that Location will automatically receive the Options in the Option Group. Option Groups can be assigned to multiple Locations. User Settings are specific to each User only, and not part of the Option Group.

To assign an Option Group to a Location:

  1. Select a value from the Location dropdown list at the top of the Location Management screen.
  2. Select a value from the Option Group dropdown list.
  3. Click the Save button.

 

Users

One or more active DGIS Users can be assigned to a Location. Each User can only be assigned to one Location at a time. When entering text in the Users Search field, Users can be filtered by a partial or full value for First Name, Last Name, or Username.

To assign a User to a Location:

  1. Select a value from the Location dropdown list.
  2. Select the checkbox for one or more Users.
  3. Click the Save button.

 

Parts

After a part has been added to DGIS, the part can be assigned to a location. Parts can be assigned to multiple locations at a time. In the Enter Text to filter field, parts can be filtered by a partial or full entry for Part Number or UNID associated with the part. To assign a Part to a location:

  1. Select the desired location
  2. Select the checkbox for the desired part
  3. Click Save

 

Templates

Shipment Templates may be assigned to only one Location at a time. When entering text in the Template Search field, Templates can be filtered by a partial or full value for the Template name.

To assign a Template to a Location:

  1. Select a value from the Location dropdown list.
  2. Select the checkbox for one or more Templates.
  3. Click the Save button.

 

FedEx Meter Numbers

If the Company has the FedEx Integration feature, the User will have the ability to assign a FedEx Meter number to a Location. A FedEx Meter Number can only be assigned to one Location at a time.

To assign a FedEx Meter Number to a Location:

  1. Select a value from the Location dropdown list.
  2. Select the checkbox for one or more FedEx Meter Numbers.
  3. Click the Save button.

 

Viewing Locations

To view the information for a location:

  1. Select a value from the Location dropdown list.

 

Deleting Locations

To delete an existing location:

  1. Click on the Administration tab.
  2. Click Locations in the left-hand side view.
  3. Select a value from the Location dropdown.
  4. Click the Delete button.
  5. Click the OK button on the confirmation dialog.

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.