Managing Users

 

This article provides the steps to setting up users within DGIS. For the full steps on adding and managing users, see: 

  1. Managing Users (current article)
  2. Additional User Information

Manage Users

On the Administration > Users screen, the Administrator can see a summary of all Users in the company. A standard user will see just their User profile on this screen.

To Add a User

To add a new User, click on the Add User button on the top right hand corner. You can then begin filling out the fields for a new User profile. One or more Roles can be assigned to that User by checking the corresponding box under Roles. Click the save button to save the User profile. When saved, the User Name will appear in the list of Users.

 

To Clone a User

You can easily add new User profiles by cloning (or copying) all the attributes of an existing User's profile. To Clone a profile, click the Clone button next to the profile that you want to copy. A window will open that will give you the option to create a new User profile that has the same Roles and Rights as the original that you are cloning.

Cloning creates a new User with the same assigned Role (and Rights that are part of that Role), plus the Cloning Options allow you to copy the same User Options and Advanced Alignments of the original User. This saves the time of manually creating multiple new Users that have the same Roles and other attributes assigned to their profile. On the pop-up Clone screen, simply add the new User information, select if you want to copy their User Options and/or Advanced Alignments, and then click Save to create the new User profile.

To Set a User as Inactive

To prevent a user from logging in, they can be set as inactive, which disables their login rights. This is done in the User's profile by selecting Edit next to the User you want to deactivate, unchecking the Active box, and then clicking on Save. Inactive Users will remain in the system and can be viewed on the main Users screen by checking the Show Inactive box at the top, but they will not have access to the system.

 

Roles and Rights

Under Administration > Roles is where you can manage the Roles for your users and the Rights associated with each Role. There are three default Roles: Admin, Manager, and Standard User. These roles are not editable; however you can create additional custom Roles with your chosen Rights.

Managing and Creating Roles

Certain Roles are predetermined by DGIS. They are Admin, Manager, and Standard User. These default Roles cannot be edited or deleted. However, the Administrator can create new Roles on the Roles screen on the Administration tab.

To add a new Role

On the Administration > Role screen, click the Add button on the top right of the screen to add a new role.

You will need to create a Role name and select the Rights you would like associated with that Role. You also have the option to check Users and Templates to assign to the Role as well (though those can be done later). Click the Save button, and the new Role will now appear in the Roles list, with an Edit and Delete option.

To delete a Role

To delete a Role, click the Delete icon next to the Role name in the Role list.

To add a User to a Role

To assign a Role to a User from this page, select Edit next to the Role. Then check the box next to each User you would like to add, then click on Save. Those Users will now have the rights associated with this Role.

 

To add a Template to a Role

Templates that are assigned to a Role can only be viewed by users that are also assigned to that Role, unless they have the right to manage locations. This is one way to organize your company. To add a template to a Role, simply check the box next to each Template you want to assign to a particular Role, then click Save.

 

Locations

Under Administration > Locations you can create locations for your company. The Locations feature is a security feature. It allows you to create several locations for your company and assign Users to each Location. A User can only see templates and shipments that are assigned to their location (unless they have a Role that includes the Right to see all shipments for all locations for the company).

To add a Location, click on Add in the top right hand corner. Then give the Location a name and select which Users are assigned to that Location by checking the boxes next to the usernames. Then click on Save. The locations can always be edited by selecting Edit next to the Location.

Licenses

When you log in to DGIS, any licenses associated with your login will appear on the Administration > Licenses screen.

License Keys

On the Licenses screen, you can view any License Keys associated with your account. You can also see a description of that license, which summarizes the type of license, as well as the expiration date.

Editing a License

To see further detailed information about a license, you can click the Edit button for that license. On the Edit screen, you can add Users to the license, as well as see more information about the subscription. (To add more Users, go to the Administration > Users screen.)

Adding a License

A new license can be added by clicking the Add License button. On the pop-window, type in the new License Key, and click Save New License to validate and add the license to your account.

 

 

 Once you have added your users, see: Additional User Information

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.